Breaking New: The Anambra State governor, Chief Willie Obiano, this afternoon swore in three new members of the Anambra State Judicial Council.

The Governor performed the swearing-in ceremony at the Governor’s Lodge, Awka.
The state judicial council members include former Deputy Governor of the state, Mr Emeka Sibeudu, a Professor of Law at the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Prof Ogugua Ikpeze and a former Director of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Dr Benedict Obi.

They replaced three former members of the Council whose tenure have expired. These new members would serve for a period of 5 years.

The State Judicial Council which comprises 6 persons, have other members including the State Chief Judge, Justice Peter Umeadi, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barr Uju Nworgu and another member whose tenure has not expired.

The Council has major among its terms of reference, to oversee the appointment of Judges and exercise disciplinary controls over staff of the state judiciary.

Swearing in the new members, Gov Obiano expressed the hope that with their pedigree, they will add value to what his government was doing in repositioning the State judiciary.

He called on the new members to be focused and ensure that they bring their integrity to bear in their new assignment.

Earlier, the State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Bar Mrs Uju Nworgu while noting that the appointments were pursuant to the provisions of Section 198 of the 1999 constitution, said the new members have been cleared by the State House of Assembly.

In their respective remarks, some of the newly sworn in members of the Council, Mr Sibeudu and Prof Ikpeze while thanking the governor for the opportunity given them to serve, said they are aware of the task ahead and will do their best for the State.

In a goodwill message, the traditional ruler of Umueri, Igwe Ben Emeka described the judiciary as the last hope of the common man and commended the Governor for carefully selecting the individuals he expressed confidence in their ability.

They were later sworn in on behalf of the governor by the State Chief Judge represented by the Executive Secretary, State Judicial Service Commission.