Breaking: Obiano inaugurates Board Of Directors For COOU Teaching Hospital, Awka.

An eleven-member board of directors of the Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Teaching Hospital Amaku, Awka, has been inaugurated. Governor Willie Obiano performed the inauguration at the Governor’s Lodge, Amawbia.

Government house correspondent, Ejike Abana reports that Dr Clem Idigo is the Chairman of the Board that has four years to function. Members of the Board include, Dr Basil Nwankwo, Prof Paschal Oguno, Dr Ndudi Muonagor and Prof W.C Nwafia.

Others are Dr Ifeanyi Ezebialu, Pharm Chisom Uchem, Dr Chike Akunyili, Prof EJC Nwanna, Prof Basil Ezeanolue and Prof Benedict Anisiuba.

Inaugurating the Board , Governor Obiano, who announced his intention to stop the payment of subvenstion to the university in the next two years, stressed that they can achieve financial independence by cutting down cost and increasing the volume of activities in the institution.

While urging them to deliver the private wards project in two months time, Governor Obiano charged them to ensure that the teaching hospital becomes the best in the country.

Giving them terms of reference, the Commissioner for Health, Dr Vincent Okpala, noted that their functions revolve around equipping, maintaining and operating the institution among other things.

Earlier, the Chief Medical Director of the institution, Dr Basil Nwankwo, who said that their present priority is to achieve accreditation for family medicine and internal medicine, however announced that under Governor Obiano, seven accreditations had been achieved.

The chairman of the Board, Dr Idigo thanked the state government for finding the board members worthy to serve, stressing that members of the board are knowledgeable and experienced in hospital administration.
Secretary to the State government, Professor Solo Chukwulobelu, witnessed the inauguration.